Firearms Information and Procedures
Permit to Acquire Firearms Information & Procedures
In order to allow our staff to safely assist you, facemasks are recommended within the MPD lobby. In order to maintain individual privacy and appropriate visitor distancing to slow the spread of germs, only 3 persons at a time will be allowed within the MPD Records Lobby area during business hours
Mahalo for your cooperation.
*** NEW FIREARMS HOURS ***
Wailuku (Main) Police Station only
Monday - Thursday ONLY (excluding holidays)
9:00 am – 3:00 pm
FIREARMS IS CLOSED ON FRIDAYS
The in-state acquisition of any firearm in Hawaii requires an approved State of Hawaii Permit to Acquire Firearms.
Basic application prerequisites:
- Applicants must be a United States Citizen or Lawful Permanent Resident (conditional LPR status not applicable).
- Must be at least 21 years of age.
- No felony-level, misdemeanor crime of violence, or drug sale convictions (in any state).
- Not restrained by a Temporary Restraining Order or Protective Order issued in any state.
FIREARM PERMIT TO ACQUIRE APPLICATION PROCESS
Please bring the following documentation with you when applying. The application must be completed in-person at the Records Section of the Maui Police Department, Wailuku, Maui or at the Lana’i and Moloka’i police stations. Please review the following information carefully as incomplete applications will not be processed.
Step 1 – All first-time applicants, and renewals occurring on or after December 4th, 2016, bring with you:
- A Valid government-issued photo identification (must not be expired);
- Hawaii Hunter’s Education card, Hawaii Hunting License, or a handgun safety training course affidavit (required for handgun permits only). The affidavit must be compliant with HRS §134-2 (g)(4).
- Fingerprinting fee - cashier's check or money order only for $43.25 payable to the County of Maui, Department of Finance. Note: If you have already paid a firearms fingerprint fee in Maui County on or after December 4, 2016 you will not be charged an additional fee for subsequent applications.
- Your U.S. issued birth certificate; or
- Proof of U.S citizenship if born outside the United States (valid US Passport, original Naturalization Certificate, or Consular Report of Birth Abroad); or
- Valid Lawful Permanent Resident Card - Form I-551 (Green Card) if applicable. (conditional LPR status not applicable).
Step 2 – To be completed in-person at the Wailuku, Lana’i, or Moloka’i police station:
- MPD Firearms questionnaire form;
- State of Hawaii Permit to Acquire Firearm application;
- If firearm to be acquired is a handgun, you must know what caliber, make, action, and source at time of application;
- State of Hawaii Adult Mental Health Division’s Authorization for Use or Disclosure of Protected Health Information waiver form;
- MPD Juvenile firearms clearance waiver (if under 25 years of age);
- Fingerprint card and photograph;
- MPD State and National Criminal History Records Check Consent and Notification Form;
- You will be provided with a copy of the FBI Privacy Act Statement, including an explanation of those rights, and an excerpt from CFR 28, §16.34 regarding your right and the procedure to change, correct, or update your identification records with the FBI CJIS Division. You must sign for receipt of this document at the time of application.
All forms are to be completed and signed in the presence of Maui Police Department Staff. Failure to complete any part of Steps 1 and 2 will constitute an incomplete application, which will not be processed.
Step 3 – Mandatory 14 to 20-day waiting period.
- You will be provided with a dated pick-up reminder slip at the time of application. On or after the specified date, call the phone number on the slip to verify your permit has been approved before coming in.
- If your permit is denied, you will be provided with written notice via USPS mail.
- If your permit is approved, you must pick it up in person at the Maui Police Department Records Section (or Lana’i or Moloka’i police stations).
- Permits are not generally mailed, faxed or released to anyone other than the applicant. If you wish to have your permit mailed to you, please provide MPD with a pre-paid USPS Registered Mail 9x12 envelope.
- Permits not picked up by the 14th day after clearance will be voided. Applicants will be required to reapply and another mandatory 14-day waiting period will apply, so please plan accordingly.
- Upon issuance, long gun (rifle/shotgun) permits will be valid for one year. Pistol/revolver permits are valid for ten days and only for the specific transaction identified on the permit.
- Please return expired permits in your possession to MPD staff as soon as possible.
Firearms Registration Information & Procedures
All firearms acquired in Hawaii or imported into the state must be registered within five (5) calendar days of acquisition (with the exception of locally acquired black powder firearms). The current fingerprinting fee is $43.25. We accept a cashier's check or money order only made payable to the County of Maui, Department of Finance.
Firearm registration hours at the Wailuku Police Station are between 9:00 am to 3:00, M-F, excluding holidays. Please contact Lana’i and Moloka’i police stations for their specific days/times.
At this time, MPD is accepting on-line firearm registrations ONLY for firearms acquired from a local (in-state) federal firearms licensee (FFL).
All other registrations must occur in person.
In-Person Firearms Registration Procedures
To register firearms acquired in-state or firearms imported from out-of-state, please bring the following with you at the time of registration:
- A Valid government-issued photo identification (must not be expired);
- A fingerprinting fee - cashier's check or money order only for $43.25 payable to the County of Maui, Department of Finance. Note: If you have already paid a firearms fingerprint fee in Maui County on or after December 4, 2016 you will not be charged an additional fee for subsequent applications or registrations.
- Your U.S. issued birth certificate; or
- Proof of U.S citizenship if born outside the United States (valid US Passport, original Naturalization Certificate, or Consular Report of Birth Abroad - original or certified copies only); or
- Valid Lawful Permanent Resident Card - Form I-551 (Green Card) if applicable. (conditional LPR status not acceptable).
Also, please note the following requirements when registering your firearm(s):
- All firearms must be unloaded, transported, and brought into the police station in an “enclosed container” (a rigidly constructed receptacle or a commercially manufactured gun case or the equivalent thereof that completely encloses the firearm).
- Firearm “socks” that would allow operation of the trigger mechanism without removal from the “sock” will not be accepted as an adequate firearm container, and your firearm may be held in police custody until an appropriate container is provided by you.
- Every person registering a firearm in Maui County that was acquired out-of state must be fingerprinted and photographed at least once in Maui County. Subsequent out-of-state registrations in Maui County by the same person will not require a further fingerprinting.
- Firearm transfers between private persons are done at the police station. Both the current firearm registered owner and the person acquiring the firearm(s) must be present.
- The current owner should bring his/her firearm registration(s) with them so that it may be referenced and properly marked as “transferred” by our staff and retained for their records.
- The acquiring party must bring his/her Permit to Acquire and a valid government-issued photo ID for the registration to be processed.
- There is no fee for registering a firearm. If you are registering your firearm in person, you will receive your registration documents on that day.
On-Line Firearm Registration Procedures
- Only firearms acquired from an in-state Federal Firearms Licensee (FFL) are eligible for on-line registration. All documentation necessary for in-person registration also apply for on-line registration. Please be sure to include all documentation with your email.
- If you choose to register your firearm(s) on-line, please be aware that the 5-day deadline for firearm registration remains the same. To expedite the process and assure that all information required by statute is included, please use the following fillable In-State Firearm Information Sheet when submitting your information to the Maui Police Department. Failure to supply the necessary information will result in a delayed registration and violation of HRS §134-3(b).
- Please complete, print, sign, and forward the forms to MPD within 5-days of acquisition via either of the following methods. Your printed firearm registration will be mailed to you in 10-15 business days.
or hand delivery
MPD – Records Section/Firearms
55 Mahalani Street
Wailuku, Hawaii 96793
- The receiving party must also provide MPD with his/her Permit to Acquire Number and a legible copy of their valid, government-issued photo ID in order for the registration to be processed.
- There is no fee for registering a firearm, In the future, a registration document delivery fee may be imposed.
Things to Know When Importing a Firearm Into Hawaii
- Pursuant to HRS §134-8(a) - possession of rifles with barrel lengths less of than 16 inches and shotguns with barrel lengths less than 18 inches is prohibited in Hawaii. See full statute for details.
- Pursuant to HRS §134-8(c) - possession of detachable ammunition magazines with a capacity in excess of 10 rounds which are designed for use with a pistol is prohibited in Hawaii. See full statute for details.
- Pursuant to HRS §134-8(a) – the possession of an assault pistol is illegal in Hawaii. An assault Pistol is defined by HRS §134-1 as a semiautomatic pistol that accepts a detachable magazine and has two or moreof the following characteristics:
- An ammunition magazine that attaches to the pistol outside of the pistol grip;
- A threaded barrel capable of accepting a barrel extender, flash suppressor, forward hand grip, or silencer;
- A shroud that is attached to or partially or completely encircles the barrel and permits the shooter to hold the firearm with the second hand without being burned;
- A manufactured weight of 50 ounces or more when the pistol is unloaded;
- A center-fire pistol with an overall length of 12 inches or more; or
- Is a semiautomatic version of an automatic firearm. See full statute for details.
License to Carry – Concealed or Unconcealed
All applications for a County of Maui License to Carry (LTC – unconcealed) or Concealed Carry Weapon (CCW) are distributed by the MPD Firearms Unit at the Wailuku Police Station. If you wish to pick up an application from the Lana’i or Moloka’i police stations, please submit your request in advance at Firearms@mpd.net. Your application will be mailed to the appropriate station for pick up. If you wish for an application to be mailed to you directly, please send your request, including a self-addressed postage-paid 9x12 envelope, to:
Maui Police Department, Firearms Section
55 Mahalani Street
Wailuku, HI 96793
Documents Required at the time of LTC or CCW application submission to MPD:
- A letter to the Maui County Chief of Police addressing the purpose for the license
- Two passport-sized color photographs
- Copy of State of Hawaii Firearm Registration of the firearm to be carried
- Copy of signed a signed firearms proficiency test including scores*
Incomplete application packets will not be processed. Completed packets may be dropped off at that address above and witnessed (signed) by MPD staff.
* Firearms proficiency tests shall be taken with the firearm intended to be carried, and must be taken within 90 days of submitting your application. The test must be administered by a state-certified or National Rifle Association firearms instructor of the applicant’s choosing (attach instructor certification). Signed and notarized test results must include shooting scores. A pass/fail test result without scores is not sufficient.
The processing, review, and approval/denial of Concealed and Unconcealed Carry License applications may take up to 120 days to complete.
Non-Resident Alien Information
Non-Transferable registrations for not more than ten (10) firearms may be issued to Non-resident aliens, valid for a continuous period not to exceed ninety days; provided that the person possesses:
- A valid Hawaii hunting license procured under chapter 183D, part II, or a commercial or private shooting preserve permit issued pursuant to section 183D-34; AND
- A written document verifying that the person has been invited to the state to shoot on private land; or
- Written notification from a firing range or target shooting business indicating that the person will actually be engaged in target shooting.
- Any firearms registered in this manner must be used solely for the purpose of the specified competition or event.
- Hawaii Revised Statutes - §134-2, Permits to Acquire
- Hawaii Revised Statutes - §134-3, Firearms Registration
- Hawaii Revised Statutes - §134-9, License to Carry
- HRS §846-2.7, Criminal History Record Checks
Last update 09/14/22