Climate Action and Resilience Committee (CAR)


Climate Action and Resilience Committee meetings are held in the Council Chamber at 9:00 am on the Monday prior to the first and third Friday of each month; however, the schedule is subject to change. The Committee may also periodically schedule site inspections.

Agendas, Minutes, & Other Documents:

View available agendas, minutes for the Climate Action and Resilience Committee .

Effective June 2, 2020, the following documents are now available on   Items List (a listing of committee items), Agendas, Minutes, and Committee Reports.

Subscribe to Notifications:

The Subscription List to receive committee agendas via email is now available at - Agenda Updates, *Email Address:  enter your email address in the box, click Submit, view and make your selection(s), and then click Submit.  You will receive a confirmation email from the County of Maui Hawaii.

Effective February 21, 2017, the following committee documents such as Items List and Committee Reports are available at Committee meeting agendas and minutes are available on this page and at

Voting Members:

Kelly Takaya King, Chair
Shane M. Sinenci, Vice-Chair
Riki Hokama
Tasha Kama
Alice L. Lee
Tamara Paltin
Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez

Non-Voting Members:

Michael J. Molina
Yuki Lei K. Sugimura

Committee Staff:

Legislative Analyst,Kasie Apo Takayama
Committee Secretary, Stacey Vinoray
Legislative Attorney, James Forrest


Issues relating to sea level rise, shoreline erosion, managed retreat, deforestation, drought, wetlands, carbon emissions, pollution, and other related contributors to climate change.

Operations and performance audits of the Maui Emergency Management Agency, including the operational oversight of any grants they administer.

Energy issues (including solar, geothermal, wind, biomass, hydropower, wave energy production, biofuel, and synthetic fuel production, power systems, and energy-efficient technologies for buildings).

Implementation of the following General Plan objective: Protect the Natural Environment.

Contact Information:

Committee E-Mail
Ph: (808) 270-7838
Fax: (808) 270-7686