Charter Commission


At intervals of ten years, a charter commission composed of eleven members must be appointed, with two appointed by the mayor, and nine appointed by the council, with each council member nominating one of the nine members, to study and review the operation of the government of the county under the amendments or new charter and to propose amendments or to draft a new charter in the manner set forth in Section 14-3 of the Charter of the County of Maui (2021).

Agendas, Minutes & Documents

View most recent Agenda/Minutes | Meeting Documents* 
View all Agenda & Minutes | County Clerk ResolutionsView Proposed Amendments
Note: *Meeting Documents are posted as they become available.


In the News - Print, Web & Social Media
View Previous Meetings - Video

Facebook - Maui Charter Commission   Instagram - Maui Charter Commission   Twitter - Maui Charter Commission

The Maui Charter Commission wants to hear from you!

ScreenShot446 Opens in new window

Take the Survey and tell us what laws you'd like changed. Copy and Share the survey link with family and friends:


  • Lance D. Collins  (Makawao) - Chair
  • Grant Y.M. Chun  (Wailuku) - Vice Chair
  • Kelson Kauanoe Batangan   (Kahului)
  • Doreen N. Canto  (Kula)
  • David P. DeLeon  (Haʻikū)
  • Paul C. Deslauriers  (Kīhei)
  • Karey K. Kapoi  (Wailuku)
  • Keoni J. Kuoha  (Pukalani)
  • Douglas Ward Mardfin  (Hāna) 
  • Ashley Olson  (Lahaina)
  • George Purdy IV  (Lānaʻi)

Meetings Schedule & Locations
Commission meeting dates and times are subject to change. Check this web site for changes.

Additional Information

  1. Charter Commission c/o Dept of Corporation Counsel

    Physical Address
    200 High St
    Kalana O Maui Bldg, 3rd Fl.
    Wailuku, HI 96793

    Supporting Department
    Department of Corporation Counsel
    Phone: (808) 270-7742
    Fax: (808) 270-7152